Responsible Journalism

MINGOGRA: Suvastu Photo Video Club, a student’s society of Swat University, held a dialogue on ‘Responsible Journalism’ to mark world Press Freedom Day -May 03 here at PTCL campus of the university.

Students of the Department of Media & Communication Studies, University of Swat, also exhibited their photographs at the event to celebrate the international day, which has been celebrating since 1993.  Vice Chancellor Prof Dr. Muhammad Jamal Khan was the chief guest on the occasion while chairman Swat Press Club Shahzad Alam, senior journalists Mahboob Ali, Sherin Zada, Niaz Ahmad, Provost of Swat University Dr. Fazal Rabbi, In-charge department of Media & Communication Studies Jamal Ud Din and other journalists, faculty members and students were also in attendance. 

Speaking at the occasion Vice Chancellor University of Swat Prof Dr. Muhammad Jamal Khan said journalists were playing a vital role in highlighting the problems being faced by the society, adding that journalism was a profession of serving the community. He said that journalists in Swat valley were committed with their profession, adding that their responsible reporting was contributing in the promotion of tourism and economy in the region.

While paying tribute to journalist community on the day of World Press Freedom Vice Chancellor said that they will continue to hold such activities in future. Earlier Mr. Shahzad Alam, Mahboob Ali, Sherin Zada, Niaz Ahmad, Dr. Fazal Rabbi and Jamal Ud Din also took part in dialogue on ‘Responsible Journalism’ and highlighted the professional role of Swat based journalists during conflict, flood/ natural disaster and rehabilitation process. They said that local journalists played a positive role through their media reports, which contributed in the peace and prosperity of the area.

Meanwhile a photography exhibition was also held on the occasion to add the efforts of students in celebrating of the World Press Freedom Day. Students of Media & Communication Studies Mr. Muhammad Ilyas, Mr. Sajid Khan and Mr. Laiq Ahmad Haider got first, second and third positions respectively.

Later on the chief guest distributed certificates and shields among the participants of the event.